Pop Eye

Popeye wasn’t their favorite comic book hero! But Pop music has always been their passion. In 2005 Dimitris, Markos and Giannis decided to form their own pop band and look at pop music through their own “pop eye”!
Just a couple of years later and with no recorded album yet, they attracted Dimitris Papaspyropoulos’ (one of the most popular radio producers in Greece) attention and their song “If You…” was included in the best selling compilation “Silent Wonder” compiled by Dimitris Papaspyropoulos. That was enough to create a buzz around their name and just a bit later their debut single “The Deepest Sea” was released by The Sound Of Everything with remixes by GAD and a french-style re-work by The Flying Silly Brothers. The single received massive support by the local indie radio stations.
Their debut album “Pop Eye” came out by Shift Records in 2008, containing one more hit single called “That’s Life”. In the next few years the band gave a series of successful live performances in Greece (Athens Video Art Festival, Gagarin, Gyalino Upstage, An Club, Soul Stereo, Braff Club, Khpos/Syxnothtes, City Bar, European Music Day, BIOS, Art House, Partisan Bar, Stavros tou Notou).
Their second album was released 4 years later and has been distributed for free on the internet. True to their pop origin Pop Eye have delivered a cheerful album likely to inspire warm feelings and smiles to the listeners. The songs of the album, especially the singles “A Better Day” & “The Night Falls” have gained great radio coverage and reviews.
Soon, Effie Theologou and Manos Anagnostakis joined Pop Eye and now with this new line-up they are recording their new album. The first single, “What Is True”, released and raised audience’s expectations and eagerness. The track included to the compilation “The Bright Side of the Road ΙΙ” released by Radio Pepper 96.6 (Greek radio station).
Have Some Fun EP released this summer focusing on the bright side of life

Dimitris Kampouris | vocals, lyrics
John Kalatis | drums, keyboards, programming
Markos Kalatis | guitar, programming
Manos Anagnostakis | bass
Effie Theologou | vocals, keyboards, guitar